Kirk Franklin, Jekayln Carr, And Koryn Hawthorne To Host 35th Anniversary Stellar Gospel Music Awards

By  | 

Sunday, August 23rd, the 35th Anniversary Stellar Gospel Music Awards will premiere on BET and BET Hers at 6 PM EST. The award-winning trio Kirk Franklin, Jekayln Carr, and Koryn Hawthorne will serve as the hosts as they celebrate and honor gospel music with a virtual award show. 

One of the highlights of the night will be a tribute to the late John Lewis with a musical performance from Cece Winans. The trio also contributes thanks to first-line responders sponsored by AT&T, AARP, State Farm, Toyota, and Proctor & Gamble for there efforts during the pandemic.  

“This is a moment to come together,” said veteran Stellar Awards co-host Kirk Franklin. “We have something very important to say to a world that needs this kind of music, with this particular message, now more than ever. The Stellar Awards is going to provide that as they have for 35 years.”

Performers include Tamela Mann, Anthony Brown, CeCe Winans, James Fortune, Koryn Hawthorne, J.J. Hairston & Youthful Praise, Jonathan McReynolds, Travis Greene, Kierra Sheard, Marvin Sapp, Tye Tribbett, Tauren Wells, Zacardi Cortez, Pastor Mike Jr, DOE, Rich Tolbert Jr., and more. Emerging artists set to make their Stellar Awards debut include Group Fire, Keyla Richardson, Melvin Crispell III, and Titus Showers.

The award show will also run in national broadcast syndication in 210 markets starting August 29 – September 27 (check local listings).

For a full list of nominations click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *